A Walk with The Old Man

20150813_195426

Overcast, but warm

The perfect day to share

We have always enjoyed our walks together

He and I

 

No longer young

He struggles to keep up

But the trail is clear and gently rolling

 

We used to traverse the woods

Over stumps and deadfalls

Ridges and marshes

 

These days we simply stroll

Enjoying each other’s company

And the sweet musky scent of the forest

 

Soaking up the moments we have left

For he is getting no younger

I see it in the gray of his whiskers

And the hitch in his giddy-up

 

He’s always there for me

And I am always there for him

** One of the best dogs I’ve ever had…. 

10 thoughts on “A Walk with The Old Man

    • Yeah, it’s tough. At some point they go. The key is not trying to keep them because we don’t want to lose them and making them suffer longer because of it. Caring means knowing when to let go for them, not us. That doesn’t make the decision any easier. 😦

      Like

Leave a comment